Go back to blog
3 June 2019
Business Law

New Requirements for Your Federal Corporation as of June 2019!

Dear client,

As of June 13, 2019, any private corporation incorporated under the Canada Business Corporations Act will have to comply with new standards designed to prevent the use of corporations for tax evasion and other criminal purposes, including money laundering, corruption and terrorist financing.

What are these changes?

Your corporation will be required to maintain a new register in its minute book, along with the registers of directors, securities and shareholders. This new register aims to identify individuals with significant control in a corporation. To determine this, the law provides for certain circumstances, including (i) a person holding 25% or more of the voting shares in the corporation’s share capital, (ii) a person holding 25% or more of the fair market value of the shares of the corporation’s share capital or (iii) a person who, without necessarily holding shares in the corporation, exercises a direct or indirect influence resulting from de facto control of the corporation.

What is the nature of your obligation?

Take reasonable steps to update the register of “individuals with significant control” at least once every fiscal year of your corporation. To this end, the register must include a description of the measures taken by your corporation to comply with these new requirements. Of course, your corporation also has a continuing obligation to record any new information it becomes aware of about an individual who has significant control over it.

Who can access this new register?

The information contained in the new register may be accessible to any of your corporation’s shareholders or creditors upon transmission of an affidavit confirming that they will use this information exclusively in connection with the corporation’s business.

What are the penalties and sanctions?

Diligence will be required in maintaining this register since the penalties for non-compliance with some of the measures provided for in the legislative amendments can go up to $200,000 and/or six (6) months’ imprisonment. In addition, these penalties may be incurred not only by the corporation’s directors and officers, but also by its shareholders who have an obligation to provide the corporation with complete and accurate information allowing the maintenance of the register.

What about corporations incorporated under Quebec law?

For the time being, these corporations are not subject to any obligation. However, it is reasonable to assume that the provinces, including Quebec, could follow suit in the near future.

We remain available for any questions, requests for additional information and/or assistance in order to adequately comply with these new provisions.

Please contact us to update your minute book!

Recent articles

Intellectual Property Books: to overcome the digital hydra
The year 2020 will have been a pivotal year particularly because of the impact of COVID-19 on the uberization of the traditional economy. How will we …
Read more
Open covid pledge
The Open COVID Pledge: Contribute to the fight against COVID with your IP
The Open COVID Pledge is a project initiated by an international group of researchers, scientists, academics and lawyers aiming to make relevant intel…
Read more
Licences pour entreprise
3 Types of Licenses to Use as a Pivot in your Corporation
Did you know that some intellectual property rights can be licensed (rented) to other corporations? You can thus allow them, for example, to produce, …
Read more
How to deal with the mask requirement and the medical conditions exemption ? A merchant’s perspective.
Based on recent consultations with our clients, one of these justifications appears to be particularly problematic. What should a retailer do when a c…
Read more

Retour au blogue
3 juin 2019
Droit corporatif

De nouvelles exigences pour vos entreprises fédérales dès juin 2019!

Cher client,  

Dès le 13 juin 2019, toute société privée constituée en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions devra se conformer à de nouveaux standards visant à prévenir les utilisations de société aux fins d’évasion fiscale et autres fins criminelles dont le blanchiment d’argent, la corruption et le financement d’activités terroristes 

Quels sont ces changements?

Votre société devra assurer la tenue d’un nouveau registre qui figurera à son livre de minutes, au même titre que les registres des administrateurs, des valeurs mobilières et des actionnaires. Ce nouveau registre vise à répertorier les particuliers ayant un contrôle important dans une société. Pour le déterminer, la loi prévoit certains cas de figure dont notamment (i) une personne détenant 25% ou plus des actions comportant le droit de vote dans le capital-actions de la société, (ii) une personne détenant 25% ou plus de la juste valeur marchande des actions du capital-actions de la société ou encore (iii) une personne qui, sans nécessairement détenir des actions dans la société, exerce une influence directe ou indirecte résultant du contrôle de fait de la société.  

Quelle est la nature de votre obligation?

Prendre des mesures raisonnables afin de mettre le registre des «  particuliers ayant un contrôle important  » à jour au moins une fois au cours de chaque année financière de votre société. À cet effet, le registre devra inclure une description desdites mesures prises par votre société afin de se conformer à ces nouvelles exigences. Naturellement, votre société détient également une obligation continue d’inscrire tout nouveau renseignement dont elle prend connaissance au sujet d’un particulier ayant un contrôle important dans votre société. 

Qui peut avoir accès à ce nouveau registre?

L’information contenue au nouveau registre peut être accessible à tout actionnaire et créancier de votre société moyennant la transmission préalable d’un affidavit confirmant que ces derniers utiliseront cette information exclusivement en lien avec les affaires de la société.  

Quelles sont les peines et sanctions?

La diligence et l’assiduité seront de mise dans la tenue de ce registre puisque les pénalités liées au non-respect de certaines des mesures prévues aux modifications législatives peuvent être de l’ordre de 200 000 $ et/ou six (6) mois d’emprisonnement. En outre, non seulement les administrateurs et les dirigeants peuvent encourir ces peines, mais également les actionnaires qui ont une obligation de communiquer à la société des informations complètes et exactes permettant la tenue dudit registre. 

Qu’en est-il des sociétés constituées sous la loi québécoise?

Pour l’instant, ces sociétés ne sont soumises à aucune obligation. Toutefois, il est raisonnable de penser que les provinces, dont le Québec, pourraient suivre l’exemple dans un avenir rapproché.   

Ceci étant dit, sachez que nous demeurons disponibles pour toute question, demande d’informations supplémentaires et/ou d’aide afin de vous conformer adéquatement à ces nouvelles dispositions. N’hésitez donc pas à nous faire signe 

Veuillez nous contacter pour mettre votre livre à jour.  

Articles récents

De nouvelles exigences corporatives pour votre entreprise québécoise
En juin 2019, nous publiions un article qui vous informait de l’obligation pour les sociétés fédérales de tenir un nouveau registre à conserv…
Lire la suite
Oh well, whatever, never mind. Hum… non, pas possible!
Chaque personne a le droit de contrôler l’utilisation qui est faite de son image, de son nom, sa voix. À ce titre, celui qui souhaite publier une …
Lire la suite
Pour venir à bout de l’hydre numérique : réflexions et commentaires sur certains changements de paradigmes juridiques
Comment traiterons-nous les questions d’utilisation de la propriété intellectuelle dans un contexte de réalité augmentée, d’intelligence arti…
Lire la suite
Comment enregistrer vos marques de commerce au Canada
L’enregistrement d’une marque de commerce nécessite plusieurs étapes et prend un certain temps. Il est donc préférable d’entamer les démarc…
Lire la suite